facebook  Instagram  YouTube  twitter  LinkedIn

Donate Now Jewish Community Foundation

Maimonides Society

About

Honoring Maimonides’ legacy of linking the values and teachings of Judaism with the practice of medicine, the Jewish Federation of Greater Pittsburgh’s Maimonides Society strives to strengthen our local medical community and our Jewish community through education, volunteerism, and philanthropy. As an honorary society for Jewish health care professionals in the greater Pittsburgh area, the Maimonides Society also seeks to encourage and strengthen the sense of community among its members through social and educational events throughout the year.

Maimonides society members contribute a minimum of $1,800 to the Annual Campaign that fortifies the philanthropic arm of the society.

The Maimonides Society is named for perhaps the most famous Jewish physician of all time, Rabbi Moses ben Maimon. Maimonides, also known as Rambam, was born in Spain in 1135 and died in Egypt in 1204. Maimonides came from a long line of Jewish scholars, and by age 33, he was a renowned Jewish scholar in his own right. Maimonides' medical works included commentaries on the work of Hippocrates and Galen, and treatises on asthma, impotence, poisons and hemorrhoids. He also wrote an early version of the Physician's Desk Reference. As a scholar, Maimonides was the leading Talmudist of his time.

 

 

 


Upcoming Events

Extended Hours - Teenie Harris Exhibit at Holocaust Center
Wed, 23 Aug 2017
5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Oral History Panel Discussion
Thu, 24 Aug 2017
6:00 PM - 7:30 PM

HOLD: VOOM! Gleaning with the Greater Pittsburgh Community Food Bank
Fri, 25 Aug 2017
9:30 AM - 12:30 PM

Extended Hours - Teenie Harris Exhibit at Holocaust Center
Sun, 27 Aug 2017
3:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Generations Open House
Sun, 27 Aug 2017
6:00 PM - 7:30 PM

Jewish Federation of Greater Pittsburgh Annual Meeting
Thu, 31 Aug 2017
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Shabbat in the Park
Fri, 01 Sep 2017
5:45 PM - 7:30 PM

Shabbat in the Park
Fri, 01 Sep 2017
5:45 PM - 7:30 PM

A Night of Music for Ladies and Girls
Tue, 05 Sep 2017
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Israel - the Nation State of the Jewish People
Wed, 06 Sep 2017
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

September VOOM!/POW!
Thu, 07 Sep 2017
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

HOLD: Hadassah Pgh Chap 100 years
Sun, 10 Sep 2017
All Day Event

Ladies Who Lunch:
Mon, 11 Sep 2017
12:00 PM - 1:30 PM

Israel & Overseas Funding Committee
Mon, 11 Sep 2017
5:15 PM - 6:45 PM

Draft Day/Fundraiser Training
Tue, 12 Sep 2017
5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Draft Day/Fundraiser Training
Tue, 12 Sep 2017
5:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Holocaust Center Advisory Board Meeting
Tue, 12 Sep 2017
6:00 PM - 7:15 PM

Volunteer Center Mission to Israel Information Session
Wed, 13 Sep 2017
12:00 PM - 1:30 PM

JPRO Fall Happy Hour
Wed, 13 Sep 2017
5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Night of Philanthropy
Thu, 14 Sep 2017
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

HOLD: JPRO Mini Mission
Fri, 15 Sep 2017
10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

HOLD: Hadassah 100 Year Celebration
Sun, 17 Sep 2017
All Day Event

Butterfly Project Exhibit Opening
Sun, 17 Sep 2017
5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Delegates Assembly
Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5:30 PM - 7:45 PM

Erev Rosh Hashana
Wed, 20 Sep 2017
All Day Event

Candle lighting
Wed, 20 Sep 2017
All Day Event

Follow the Reader
Wed, 20 Sep 2017
9:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Rosh Hashana 5778
Thu, 21 Sep 2017
All Day Event

Rosh Hashana II
Fri, 22 Sep 2017
All Day Event

Candle lighting
Fri, 22 Sep 2017
All Day Event


More Events Print View

CLICK HERE for a members listing!

Contact

For more information on Maimonides Society, please contact Roi Mezare at rmezare@jfedpgh.org or 412.992.5230.

Jewish Federation of Greater Pittsburgh
234 McKee Place, Pittsburgh PA, 15213  412-681-8000
www.jfedpgh.org I info@jfedpgh.org  
 
Four Star Charity   Award for Excellence



Copyright © 2017 The Jewish Federation of Greater Pittsburgh. All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use